Motörhead - The World Is Yours

(CD, Motörhead Music / EMI Music Services, 2011)

I really hate gambling and playing with  fruit-machines, I detest the burn of Jack w/ cola in my throat and also, I don’t smoke. But I do love MOTÖRHEAD ; actually, I consider myself as a die-hard MOTÖRHEAD fan. I’ve been watching these guys since 1992 and “March Or Die” and I could say that it was love at first sight. 35 years of existence, 20 studio albums auspiciously and millions fans around the globe are enough to convince all the infidels that this band is made of success or, putting it in other words, has all the four aces up its sleeves (and don’t forget the joker!). Two years ago, many mouths rushed to say that “Motörizer” would be the last album in MOTÖRHEAD’s replete career but they were so wrong: as Earth spins around the sun, Lemmy and the boys will still breath rock ‘n’ roll and release 100% worth-listening albums, full of party appetite, quenching our thirst for pure rock, making our lives (and ourselves) more decent. The brand new album, “The Wörld Is Yours” belongs to this category, of course and seems that MOTÖRHEAD have another 35 years of a glorious career on their account.

First of all, I would like to make clear that I can’t be dispassionate when it’s a matter of MOTÖRHEAD stuff – I just can’t. So, if you are expecting to read an unbiased review, marking the repetition of their music style, the lack of additional riffs or the absence of inspiration, sorry but I’m going to disappoint you. Now, that I got that clear, I can reveal you that I didn’t expect something less from MOTÖRHEAD’s 20th studio album; just this astonishing sound, including the pompous trademark bass, the mind-blowing drums and the so familiar throaty vocals that accompanying us for so long. But what happened with the guitars, man? I mean, Mr. Campbell seems to be in great shape and mood and I just can’t believe what I’m listening to. If you notice closely in tracks like “I Know How To Die”, “Devils In My Head” or “I Know What You Need”, you’re gonna realize that something has changed in Phil’s six string goddess’ sound; it’s more complex, more technical, more… MOTÖRHEAD -esque than ever! That’s right!

What about the lyrics? Already, the title has revealed from the beginning that the lyrics have to do with the state of the world right now and what we can do to change (or not) that. Every line written in “The Wörld Is Yours” is full of the sarcastic tense and directness of Mr. Kilmister, spoken in simple (and wise, if I may add) words; look closely the lyrics in “I Know How To Die”, “Get Back In Line” or “I Know What You Need” and you are gonna face the ugly truth of our evil days. You maybe also find the brand new hymn of rock ‘n’ roll in “Rock 'n' Roll Music” (in lower tempo that the previous “Rock Out”) that carries all that MOTÖRHEAD standards in its bluesy tunes, the new MOTÖRHEAD hymn although answers to the name of “Brotherhood Of Man” and its so in-your-face terse riffage. That one was a superb surprise for me, having to admit that I didn’t expect from MOTÖRHEAD nowadays to write such a solid and complete song, reminding the old days of Heavy Metal.

It’s a fact for every metalhead out there that every MOTÖRHEAD album is indisputably a guarantee for having great time, no matter if the year is 2010 or twenty years back; even though many of them don’t want to admit it and pretend that MOTÖRHEAD’s music is so repeatable and out of date that doesn’t worth to listen to anymore. I have to answer them that while MOTÖRHEAD release new albums, they don’t have to be afraid if someday Metal stops existing, ‘cause it won’t. “The Wörld Is Yours”, ladies and gents, and the only thing you have to do is to step on it.

Know I ain’t no angel,
Broken wings don’t fly,
I know the law
I know how to die.”





01. Born To Lose
02. I Know How To Die
03. Get Back In Line
04. Devils In My Head
05. Rock 'n' Roll Music
06. Waiting For The Snake
07. Brotherhood Of Man
08. Outlaw
09. I Know What You Need
10. Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye



Ian "Lemmy" Kilmister - Vocals, Bass
Phil Campbell - Guitar
Mikkey Dee - Drums