Master’s Hammer - Vracejte Konve Na Misto

Master’s Hammer - Vracejte Konve Na Misto

(CD, Private, 2012)

Personally speaking, it seems unbelievable that MASTER’S HAMMER have returned and right now they release a second album after the “Mantras” comeback in 2009. For this album apart the main man Franta Storm there is the helping hand of Jan Kapak (known drummer in Czech, has played among others with KRIEG and MANIAC BUTCHER), Necrocock and Joe Harper who plays Jaw Harp audible in many of songs. So, in “Vracejte Konve Na Misto” Storm is almost behind everything and for unknown reasons he didn’t use all the lineup of “Mantras” while it is very important that apart the natural drumming there is behind the mastering of this LP one of the most favorite persons of those who like Czech bands; Petr ‘Blackie’ Hosek (ex ROOT and CRUX).

“I’m composing songs inspired by winter landscape at night and by graveyard typography. When walking on cemeteries, I’ve noticed several times a strange inscription which I found appropriate as title for the album: Vracete Konve Na Misto (Put Watering Cans Back In Place)” says Franta Storm in MASTER’S HAMMER’s site and I couldn’t find a better intro. Not as strange as “Mantras” “Vracejte Konve Na Misto” looks straight at the first two albums while some guitar themes remind them a lot. This I guess will make happy many of the band’s friends but the element of surprise that the previous album had is somewhat lost here. The new opus is a killer release and the first track “Nordfrostkrampfland” probably one of the best songs I have heard so far this year. The drumming provides ultra dimensions to the material while the guitars are drawing pictures in a canvas with winter landscapes and feelings of both calm and desolation. Plus the characteristic vocals together with the use of their native language will travel you back in the “Ritual” and “Jilemnicky Okultista”.

Most of the tracks are very good with “Nordfrostkrampfland”, “Ve Vichru Nicoty”, “Podejte Mi Samopal”, “Lovecraft” and the self-titled winning the impressions. The part in “Lovecraft” where Storm sings ‘Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh’ is amazing and the guitars in this one and in the self-titled are fantastic. The characteristic humor of the band is still present in various places; check the “Dreaming Bulldog” instrumental where you can hear a bulldog sleeping (!). I also liked the artwork of the digipack cover and the inner white booklet are very nice with some cool drawings inside. The vinyl version will have two tracks less (the instrumental and the last one) but is also very well made.

The main thing here is that “Vracejte Konve Na Misto” differs from most of the common Metal scene’s products out there because is so damn authentic and made by true needs that may put in a difficult position many of the so-called fans out there who listen to this and that because they have or been told to do. A cosmos of coldness, weird tales bizarre humor and good metal waits here for all those who may concern. What a great band really!!!





01. Nordfrostkrampfland
02. Sumava
03. Ve Vichru Nicoty
04. Namornicka
05. Podejte Mi Samopal
06. Dreaming Bulldog (Intermezzo)
07. Vracejte Konve Na Misto
08. Lovecraft
09. Flammarion
10. Lingam A Mikve
11. Pantheismus Dobra
12. Flammarion Fatal Mix


Frantisek Storm - Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Synths
Jan Kapak - Drums
Necrocock - Vocals, Dramaturgic Adviser
Joe Harper - Jaw Harp