Pharaoh - Ten Years

Pharaoh - Ten Years

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

(EP, Cruz del Sur Music, 2011)

With three albums in their arsenal, and 3 years after their last release “Be Gone”, the American Power Metal band PHARAOH return with their new EP, “Ten Years” to celebrate the ten years of existence. As it has been already foretold, since October of 2008, the EP includes two unreleased songs from the “Be Gone” sessions, two songs that were released in the bonus 7” vinyl and two covers: SLAYER’s “Tormentor” and NEW MODEL ARMY’s “White Light”.

The EP begins with the two new tracks; “Ten Years” and “When We Fly”. Both of them are strong, heavy and fast and reminded me of VIRGIN STEELE, not only musically, but also because the voice of Tim Aymar (ex-CONTROL DENIED, TRIPLE X, PSYCHO DREAM) resembles that of David DeFeis. “Reflection And The Inevitable Future” and “Nothing I Can Say” are the tracks from the 7” vinyl: the first is a fast, solid one, much like the two first songs of the EP, while the latter one is more mid-tempo but heavy nonetheless. “Tormentor” and “White Light” are two very nice covers: while the band remains faithful to the original songs they add a personal touch and to incorporate them in their musical style.

I’d say that, although the EP is a strong and solid release, “Ten Years” is mainly addressed to the band’s hardcore fans, not having anything new to offer. It’s mostly a filler album until the release of the band’s forth studio album around October. Nevertheless, “Ten Years” is good and it won’t let down anyone that will get it.





01. Ten Years
02. When We Fly
03. White Light
04. Reflection and the Inevitable Future
05. Nothing I Can Say
06. Tormentor


Tim Aymar - Vocals
Matt Johnsen - Guitar
Chris Kerns - Bass
Chris Black - Drums