Midnight - No Mercy For Mayhem

Midnight - No Mercy For Mayhem

(CD/LP, Hells Headbangers Records, 2014)

Nowadays, there are a lot of bands to choose from and satisfy even your most bizarre taste for music. There is a lot of cross-breeding between genres and most of times it’s difficult when one is bleeding in the other. Moments like these a metalhead needs to reset and get to the basics that most of the times are responsible for making us like the Metal genre. In this context comes the one-man band MIDNIGHT which keeps everything simple but most effective. “No Mercy For Mayhem” is MIDNIGHT’s second full length LP and everything you loved in the debut is herein included...

...and that is nothing less than up-tempo bass-driven Rock ‘n’ Roll in the vein of MOTÖRHEAD and, to my personal delight, of VENOM. Believe it or not, this type of music may be simple to some but you should not forget that the easiest the song, the less difficult to make it stick. I mean, everyone can pretty much copy a specific sound but MIDNIGHT have everything required to back it up. From the Cronos-influenced singing-like-screaming (or is it the other way around?), the awesome bass sound to the MOTÖRHEAD-esque rhythm guitars, everything looks in place as “Evil Like A Knife” is blasting through the speakers. Of course, I shouldn’t forget the lyrics that are a crucial part to this unholy/blasphemous cocktail, so get in your best moshing/drinking mood and crank it up during “The Final Rape Of Night” (man, I love how the bass strings sound in this one) and the party-smasher “Try Suicide” with the MOTÖRHEAD guitar backbone while diving back in the 80s Punk-infused Thrash of “Aggressive Crucifixion”. No, this is not the typical unholy Thrash album because to my ears it sounds absolutely genuine and inspired (if that’s a fitting word to use when dealing with a MIDNIGHT album) and on top of that I think Athenar has put more effort on the guitar leads like it happens in the bluesy “No Mercy For Mayhem” (I could even claim this as the first MIDNIGHT “ballad”) and in the explosive “Woman Of Flame” with the driving main riff.

If you are ready for more hooded menace and you are still true to your Metal roots, then MIDNIGHT is the perfect drinking/moshing buddy. After all, a band that has distinct VENOM influences cannot fail and I think I will make this an axiom. By the way, if you get the chance, watch MIDNIGHT live and I am sure you’ll appreciate their music even more.





01. The Mercy Curse
02. Evil Like A Knife
03. Prowling Leather
04. No Mercy For Mayhem
05. The Final Rape Of Night
06. Degradation
07. Woman Of Flame
08. Try Suicide
09. Whiplash Disaster
10. Aggressive Crucifixion
11. Destroy Tsunami's Power


Athenar - All Instruments, Vocals